Happy Mayday!

Happy Mayday! It’s been a busy month, and still there’s fun in the frolicking!

Last month I mentioned that I was unemployed. I diligently participated in job search activities, among both the usual and unusual suspects.

As many of you know, I read tarot cards. What better time to make a go of the business?

Tarot Biz

So, on a former tarot teacher’s advice, my friend and I tried our hand at picking up clients at local bars. We thought we’d try places where we normally get left alone. Places where you have to light a firecracker to get a server’s attention. So naturally, that lead us to Rosewood Tavern.

Rosewood Tavern We went into Rosewood, and asked if we could read people’s tarot cards at the table, and of course order. The gentleman who’d been showing us to our seat said “Sure, as long as you don’t do anything too crazy.” So we set up shop, which was fun, until the manager came and threw us out on our ears. He actually stood in front of the table until we left, unimpressed with our intention to order.

That didn’t stop us! We went on to Barney’s Beanery, known for their karaoke nights-and for being left to your own devices.

Barney's Beanery When we asked to read tarot there, the General Manager came to tell us what a great idea it was, and that we should do it elsewhere.

I’m on the list at Bar Sinister, somehow I think it’s the long-list, rather than the short-list; and yet somehow, I’m still sure it’ll happen one way or another.

    It occurred to me the next morning that I’d never really seen this going on at bars outside of Halloween, but man do we get an A for effort!

   That’s ok, I enjoy my free time. There’s tons to do here in L.A. when all you have is time. Like going to Runyon Canyon, for example.

Runyon Canyon with my Gyrl MichelleRunyon Canyon Mountain ViewRunyon City View I’d suggest going on a cool day, or very early as possible. I hear that seniors do the hike at 6am, v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y. I’ll probably never be able to confirm that myself, but it was food for thought as I huffed and puffed and begged my friend to wait so I could catch my breath. Admission is free, and they keep it that way by skipping those tedious and unsightly fences that might prevent a faint hiker from falling off the mountain. Don’t worry if you do though, a helicopter can come and get you, as I hear has happened in the past.

    I’m a city gal at heart though, so I recouped at the movies. Yes, it is possible to get a deal on movies – even in Hollywood.

Sunset 5 For a touch of class, I checked out Sundance Cinemas at Sunset & Crescent Heights.  Go on a Tuesday, the shows are $6. I saw the Last Knights with Morgan Freeman, LOVED IT! Deep down I’m still waiting for my knight in shining armour to arrive, and there were plenty of them in that film.

Sunset 5 in Style Sunset Cinemas is classy, they offer wine and dinner, along with the regular popcorn and snack items. I did the movie Frugal Ho style, so I bought my own…. like you’ve never done that!

They are so classy, they offer free maxi pads, so don’t bleed on their seats B!tches!!!

Sunset 5 Free Pads I was about to stock up despite the sign, but it wasn’t my brand.

  I’ve heard tell of a $6.50 matinee in Silverlake, and I’ll chase this urban legend down and report back on it soon.

  Meanwhile, stay frugal, and keep bangin’!

Leave a comment